The Eightfold Path is often divided into the three categories of wisdom (right view/understanding, right intention), ethical conduct (right speech, right action, right livelihood) and mental cultivation (right effort, right mindfulness, right concentration).

Right View/ understanding
Right Intention/ thought Wisdom
Right Speech Ethical Conduct
Right Action Ethical Conduct
Right Livelihood Ethical Conduct
Right Effort Mental Cultivation
Right Mindfulness Mental Cultivation
Right Concentration Mental Cultivation




The Eightfold Path is a practical and systematic way out of ignorance, eliminating dukkha from our minds and our lifestyle through mindful thoughts and actions. It is presented as a whole system, but the three paths associated with the area of mental cultivation are particularly relevant to the happiness that we can find in equanimity, or peace of mind.

Peace and Love, Jim

The Daily Buddha – Support The Server

The Daily Buddha  – Web

The Daily Buddha – YouTube

The Daily Buddha – Facebook

The Daily Buddha – Store

Subscribe To The Daily Buddha
Daily Delivery Straight To Your Inbox!
100% Privacy. Zero spam.