The Buddha once described the mind as a wild horse. In the Eightfold Path, he recommends practicing “right concentration” by first avoiding and then clearing our minds of negative, unwholesome thoughts. Once that is achieved, one perfects a wholesome, tranquil state of mind through the practice of positive thinking. This ongoing effort promotes a state of mind that is conducive to the practice of mindfulness and concentration (meditation).

Right Concentration is a mental discipline that aims to transform your mind. As the core practice of “meditation,” right concentration is a foundational activity within Buddhist thought and practice. According to Buddha, there are four stages of deeper concentration called Dhyana:

1. The first stage of concentration is one in which mental hindrances and impure intentions disappear and a sense of bliss is achieved.

2. In the second stage, activities of the mind come to an end and only bliss remains

3. In the third stage, bliss itself begins to disappear.

4. In the final stage, all sensations including bliss disappear and are replaced by a total peace of mind, which Buddha described as a deeper sense of happiness.

Peace and Love, Jim

The Daily Buddha  – Web

The Daily Buddha – YouTube

The Daily Buddha – Facebook

The Daily Buddha – Store

Subscribe To The Daily Buddha
Daily Delivery Straight To Your Inbox!
100% Privacy. Zero spam.