Buddhism, like most of the great religions of the world, is divided into a number of different traditions. Having studied world religions and researching many of them I have found that these three traits are almost universal, so lets have a look:

These three consist of:

Sila: Virtue, good conduct, morality. This is based on two fundamental principles:

The principle of equality: that all living entities are equal.

The principle of reciprocity: This is the “Golden Rule” in
Christianity — to do onto others as you would wish them to do
onto you. It is found in all major religions.

Samadhi: Concentration, meditation, mental development. Developing one’s mind is the path to wisdom which in turn leads to personal freedom. Mental development also strengthens and controls our mind; this helps us maintain good conduct.

Prajna: Discernment, insight, wisdom, enlightenment. This is the real heart of Buddhism. Wisdom will emerge if your mind is pure and calm.

Regardless of our views or religious choices these values are timeless and concerned with righting the world through our own behaviors. Honor them in your own life and to honor a better way and better balance in times when we need it most.

Peace and Love, Jim

The Daily Buddha  – Web

The Daily Buddha – YouTube

The Daily Buddha – Facebook

Subscribe To The Daily Buddha
Daily Delivery Straight To Your Inbox!
100% Privacy. Zero spam.